Latest Lucky Cat trend in Japan

3 Jun

HOT MANIKI NEKO NEWS FLASH! According to yesterday’s evening edition of the the Chunichi Newspaper, the type of maneki neko that sells the most has changed drastically since 2008. From around 2000 to 2007, 90% of the lucky cats sold in Tokoname, one of the main pottery towns in Aichi prefecture, had their left paw up (to  beckon/attract customers) and 10% had their right paw up (to beckon money).

However, in 2008, when the derivatives disaster almost wiped out the world economy (known as the Lehman Shock in Japan), everything changed. Suddenly, lucky cats with both paws up became popular, and to make sure that nobody would interpret both paws up as a gesture meaning “I give up!”, the lucky cat makers created a cat that has one paw raised slightly higher than the other paw.two paws raised

Today, 70% of lucky cats sold have both paws raised (to beckon both customers and money), 20% have the right paw raised (money) and 10% have the left paw raised (customers). The economic crisis is continuing in Japan. People and companies have adjusted their wishes, and the maneki neko, always a bellwether of the economy, has adapted to the times.

18 Responses to “Latest Lucky Cat trend in Japan”

  1. Quirky Little Planet June 29, 2013 at 6:55 am #

    Hi, I found your blog as I was writing about Maneki Neko. Hope you don’t mind but I’ve linked back to your blog. You can read my post here if you like – http://quirkylittleplanet.wordpress.com/2013/06/29/maneki-neko-aka-the-japanese-lucky-cat/

    • Lucky Cat - Maneki Neko June 29, 2013 at 7:07 pm #

      Thanks for the link (and for pinning my favourite lucky cat charm on your Pinterst board). Happy to share info & luck!

  2. Leon August 18, 2013 at 12:52 am #

    Hi , Do you know where I can find maneki neko in the Vancouver area? I live in Surrey just wondering if you know any good places other than the store in Metrotown. Preferable under $20.00. And if Daiso still sell them in Richmond. Sorry I live far so just seeing if you know any new places.. Thanks!

    • Lucky Cat - Maneki Neko August 28, 2013 at 6:26 pm #

      I haven’t been to the Richmond Daiso in awhile, but I assume they still sell lucky cats. There may also be some other stores in the Aberdeen Mall that sell them. Also, Yokoyaya in downtown Vancouver, which is like a Daiso, sells them, as do other stores in Vancouver’s Chinatown area.

  3. Kris November 8, 2013 at 8:18 am #

    do you know how i can purchase a lucky cat with both paws up? I live in Fort Worth Texas and can order from internet too.
    Thanks!

  4. er August 10, 2014 at 8:57 am #

    hi there- I’ve been looking for mini jade maneki neko for chokers or a large one for home luck- have you ever seen these? I’ve been scouring the internet trying to find them.

  5. Carlos Castro November 8, 2014 at 7:18 am #

    Hello guys. How are u? I’m doing a research about the manekineko and I find your web very interesting. So, I need to know who’s the person/ns who writes the articles in the web? That’s because I need to make the respective citations about it.

    Hope you can help me,

    Best regards.

    • Lucky Cat - Maneki Neko November 8, 2014 at 6:45 pm #

      Hi Carlos. Thank you for your interest in correctly crediting content on this site. Most of the posts are written by me. For these, you can cite the blog name: luckymanekineko.wordpress.com. If a post is written by someone else, the name is given at the top of the post.

  6. Rochelle December 17, 2014 at 7:44 pm #

    My husband and I are traveling to Japan in May and I have my heart set on bringing home a Lucky Cat. How difficult is it to find one in Tokyo? Do you have any suggestions of where to shop? I love the look of the ones in the photo in this post (non-tradional). Any advise would be great!!

    Thanks!

    • Lucky Cat - Maneki Neko December 18, 2014 at 11:28 pm #

      There should be many shops in Tokyo selling lucky cats. One shop that a friend recommends is called Sukeroku. It is a small shop in the nakamise (a long corridor of souvenir shops) at Sensoji Shrine in Akasuka, Tokyo. The shop has been run by the same family for around 150 years. They sell a wide variety of handmade, clay figures that recreate traditional Edo period toys, scenes and characters, including a variety of maneki neko. Some are less traditional and very unusual and can’t be found anywhere else. You can find some more info on the shop at the end of this post: https://luckymanekineko.wordpress.com/2012/07/27/maneki-neko-territory-a-visit-to-asakusa-and-imado-shrine/

      Enjoy your trip! (if you find an interesting lucky cat, feel free to share a photo here or on our Facebook site: https://www.facebook.com/LuckyCat.ManekiNeko)

  7. joyce griffin August 17, 2015 at 6:40 pm #

    Were can i buy one

  8. Kyle Yuki Bista December 13, 2015 at 5:27 pm #

    Hi! Love your blog. Been trying to find the yellow one in the picture for a while but couldn’t find it. Is there any chance that you might sell it?😄

    • Lucky Cat - Maneki Neko December 13, 2015 at 8:03 pm #

      The yellow one was sold as part of a fund-raiser to help victims of the Tōhoku earthquake and tsunami in 2011 and doesn’t seem to be for sale any longer. I’m not planning to sell mine right now (though I may sell some of my lucky cats at some point in the future).

  9. Jebel debdeb April 17, 2016 at 5:11 am #

    I am 100%believe in this cat, this cat appear to 5years ago when my life went down hill , I felt like I was crawling &trying to escape from the situation That i was in. When I felt like i finally escape &survived the 3 years long of my worst time in my life ,this white cat that was with me every minute and second for 3 years such left me all of a sudden .i never seen or heard about this cat before, 1st time I saw it the way she raise his hand meaning it myself ‘bye bye to whatever that hurt me and my life, until now i such search for the meaning of this cat ,I still have the photos of this cat from maybe 3-4 years ago

    • Lucky Cat - Maneki Neko April 17, 2016 at 10:26 am #

      I’m glad the cat was able to help you. In the Japanese origin of the cat, the raised paw is not waving goodbye, it’s beckoning/welcoming good fortune or people. You could also look at it as welcoming good things into your life. Here’s a link to our post about the lucky cat origin story: https://luckymanekineko.wordpress.com/2011/04/13/the-road-to-gotokuji/

Leave a Reply

